Tags

, , ,

My daughter Sarah is only ten years old but yesterday she had her first heartbreak.  She got the idea that she wanted to “date” a boy in her class, Cameron.  He was apparently amenable to that as well so they announced (by holding hands) to the class they were together as a couple.

Now my little Sarah is a lovely girl, long brown hair that goes past her waist, beautiful blue eyes and a personality that gave her the moniker “sweet Sarah” – it fits her well.  She is one of those girls who makes friends with everyone, even the people that no one else likes, even the people that everyone likes.  The girl simply doesn’t have it in her to be mean.

So for a week these two little lovebirds have been the object of intense scrutiny by the entire fourth grade class and the object of many comments and snickers.  I do believe that she kind of liked the attention, along with being the very first girl in her class to have a “boyfriend”. However, as these things go, it turns out that Cameron is, well, a player. He informed her, via phone call, that he was going to be with Sabrina instead, and would Sarah happen to have Sabrina’s phone number?

Poor sweet Sarah. She tried all day yesterday to keep a stiff upper lip, but just after supper she finally broke down and cried. I tried to comfort her by saying all the things a parent does, how he’s not worthy of her, that she’s too young for having a boyfriend anyway, that she shouldn’t worry because lots of boys will want to be her boyfriend in the upcoming teen years (and may God have mercy on my husband when that happens, he’s going to have a heart attack). None of this worked of course, she was too despondent.

So I changed tactics and instead volunteered my husband to go over to Cameron’s and shake some sense into him.  I got a small grin for that. Then I offered another plan; her family (dad, sister, granny and me) would all dress up in Ninja garb and run in step over to Cameron’s house, all the while chanting “hut hut hut” like we were on the Swat team.  We’d then climb his roof and lower ourselves to his window (she informed me that he lived in a one story but I shrugged and said it’s more fun my way) where we’d sneak in like ninja’s and put fish under his bed, break eggs into his backpack and cause all sorts of havoc.  This, at long last, got a laugh from her and I knew she was on the way to recovery.

But the most soothing care she got, which surprised me, was from her 12 year old sister, Elisabeth.  Now, normally Elisabeth spends her time complaining about Sarah, avoiding her and fussing because we expect more from her than we do from Sarah. But last night, a little while after our ninja sneak attack conversation, I walked in to find Elisabeth sitting on the couch with Sarah at her feet and Elisabeth was gently braiding her hair and talking softly to her.  The two were sharing a sister moment so I left them alone.  Awhile later, sweet Sarah went off to sleep and I could tell she was at last, at peace.

Thank goodness for goofy families who are willing to do anything they have to in order to get a laugh from a heartbroken kid, and a sister that knows exactly what it takes to love the pain away.

